The Selfless Choice (longest poem I’ve ever written)


Already a woman before I could be a lady,
Sweat, cries and pain are my suitors.
I don’t even know how to laugh,
I don’t think I ever learned how.
My skin tattooed with scars of
Seventeen years.
Cover me, Cover me!
The eyes that behold me sting with judgment
The lips that address me only dictate.
LORD GOD! NAME OF CHRIST!
Where are you now when I am wounded?
Do you even hear me crying right now?
I thought you would always be here!
I thought you would never forsake me?
Forsake me! That’s what you’ve done!
Empty words and promises is all I’m left with.
I trusted you!
Ten times I begged you to save me.
But you’ve left me here,
Now tell me why I shouldn’t leave too!
For ten years I’ve begged you to make it all go away!
WHAT ARE YOU DOING?
Lord I’m so sorry I can’t help her,
I’m too scared!
I could die! He would torture me if I help her!
You don’t know what pain feels like?
Why can’t you send someone else to do this?
You made me; you know I am too scared!
Why are you trying to get me killed?
I can’t carry someone else’s burden.
Why are you judging me?
I thought you said you would always forgive me!
Stop tormenting me, I just can’t try!
FIND SOMEONE ELSE!
I told you ten times,
NO!
 I help her, then what?
I don’t have anything to sustain her,
She’s better off where she is!
I can only pray that she stays on you,
THAT IS ALL I CAN DO.
Destinies Intertwined,
Decisions to be made,
Will you make the selfless choice?
I did!
When I was stripped,
More than once beaten,
Even in the face of death,
All I felt was wrath.
But it’s all worth it,
The selfless choice…
Your choice.
So, what are you thinking?

