Rationality, Education and Intelligence. (Raw thoughts)

So it’s 12:04am and I’ve spent the last 4 hours thinking of a topic for writing class. My assignment is to write a persuasive essay in a format of my choice (i’ll probably choose blog) about a controversy, trend… here’s where it gets good.. that relates to reading or writing!! Yay! how interesting -_-. Maybe i’m not imaginative enough but my senses just don’t tingle at the thought of reading and writing. So in my quest to look for something I give a crap about that relates to reading and or writing, I end up in TED. My love for TED began roughly about two years ago, when my Key Skills teacher, Mrs. Townsend (love her!) showed us a TED video during class. From that day on, I found something new I loved. TED allowed me to think about the significance of my existence and how I too could be working to make a difference. So I stumble on a a talk from 2006 by Sir Ken Robinson, “an English author, speaker, and international advisor on education in the arts to government, non-profits, education, and arts bodies” (yes, I got  that from Wikipedia and I don’t care). Anyway, in his HILARIOUS talk, Robinson says, “…creativity now is as important in education as literacy” This got me thinking about schools, education, creativity and intelligence.

1. Are schools really killing our creativity?

2. If degrees are becoming less important, why do we still have a formal education system?

3. Since we know that there are different types of intelligence, why are we not looking to explore multiple educational systems that cater to these types of intelligence?

4. Why am I in school?

I’m still thinking about the first three but I’ll try to give my thoughts on the fourth. First of all, school is really not for everyone! Second, I believe I’m in school because I need something to do while I’m figuring things out.

Sometimes I really do think that the world needs to rethink the education system because I really don’t think learning was originally this boring for people before the industrial revolution. I don’t know if this is fact but I think that people before the industrial revolution who were lucky enough to be rich and went to school did so because they waned to! They actually enjoyed it! All those men in their weird pants actually wanted to talk about the nature of human existence, mathematics, theories, literature and all other forms of knowledge that are readily available to us. It was their passion! Don’t get me wrong, education going mainstream has definitely done the world loads of good but maybe just maybe the reason the educational system isn’t doing as well is because we have gone from a point where we needed only certain to achieve our dreams. In today’s globalized world, the way school is organised just doesn’t cut it.

School needs to become what it was before, a place where people went to pursue their passions. What am I suggesting? To be extreme, we need to take out curricula! To be fair though, the educational system isn’t so bad… so rather than destroy it, we need to modify it and create an education system that is flexible and allows people to pursue their passion! (More importantly, I think we need more ways of evaluating people’s qualifications for jobs) Perhaps the reason why the educational system is failing is because the educational system promotes rationality and in the process stifles free thinking which negatively impacts creativity. Yes, we should teach people that 2+2=4 but we also need to teach that it is alright for people to think of ways in which 2+2 can also be 22; schools should make it ok to bend the rules of rationality. When we can bend the rules of rationality, we can allow creativity to flourish. If a 3 year old says 2+2 is 22 in a test, perhaps instead of an X, we should ask how and why?

This post is unedited and are the raw thoughts of a first year college students (me).

P.S. I’m probably going to write something about education.. probably how education is basically reading and writing in different ways… wish me luck.

Here is the TED video that inspired this post:

So, what are you thinking?

