What is rich? What is poor?

Author’s Comment:

Hey ladies and gentlemen

I’ve been in a writing phunk for a while. Call it laziness, call it writers block, I just know that I haven’t penned anything down. Anyway, I finally wrote something and it’s to be read in spoken word poetry style. I love spoken word but I wouldn’t exactly call myself a spoken word poet. This was inspired by everyone on my twitter timeline. Somehow we all seem to have an obsession with money, our image and making sure that we live up to some standards that we have either set for ourselves or have been set by others. At the end of the day, it’s important to know that the superficial isn’t what counts. Any-who, here it is, I hope you like it!

 

What is rich?

Does it mean I can never fail?

 Does it mean I have more of a right to speak my mind?

Does it mean that the law is beneath me?

Does it mean that my dreams are better?

Does it mean that the words I speak are more intelligent?

Does it mean that I am of more value?

What is rich?

 

What is poor?

Does it mean that I can never smile?

Does it mean that I can’t be trusted?

Does it mean that I have to bow down and praise you just because you have more?

Does it mean I have no power?

Does it mean no one will listen?

What is poor?

 

They say money rules the world and those who have it have the loudest voices,

So day and night,

9 to 5,

From the moment we speak,

We begin to look for ways to get more paper.

 

Money talks, so they teach us the language, the attitude, the culture

Because money fulfills all your dreams!

 

So tell me! What is rich? What is poor?

Does it mean that I have to be ashamed for having less?

Does it mean that I have less pride?

Does it mean that I have less of a right to represent you?

 

I couldn’t possibly realistically become anything

 Because all I have are these rags

And life is not a movie where things change

So I’m stuck in this puddle of missed-opportunity

 

So I let go of my pride and beg whoever I can find

So now tell me what is poor?

 

And what is rich?

Does it mean that I am never uncertain about the future because I have it all?

Does it mean that I can carry the weight of the world on my shoulders?

Does it mean that I don’t sweat when I sleep?

Does it mean that I owe the world my life?

 

They say the love of money is the root of all evil,

Maybe the creation of money is the root of all evil?

Who created it anyway?

Who imprisoned our minds, imaginations?

Who imprisoned our music, minds, souls and bodies?

Who made rich and who made poor?

Someone please tell me who, and what and why!

Who defined our worth based on how closer to infinity the numbers we have are?

Who said that there isn’t beauty in the dusty plains, where the cattle don’t graze?

And I don’t even know if that line made any sense,

Just the way that I don’t know these things that I ask!

What is rich and what is poor?

 

Inspired by the attitudes of a people I love,

We shouldn’t forget the things that are valueless for the things that have value.

6/13/13.

In the blazing heat of the African Sun.

2 thoughts on “What is rich? What is poor?

So, what are you thinking?

